Cubenx - Elegiac


Cubenx - Elegiac

Infine Music is proud to be releasing a stunning second album from Cubenx entitled ‘Elegiac’. The LP will be available on vinyl, CD and digital. There’s also three bonus tracks on the vinyl edition that aren’t included on the CD and digital versions.

Cubenx is Cesar Urbina, a Mexican producer and family member at Infine who is constantly on the move between Mexico, Paris and Berlin. His minimal electronic style is moody and sombre, full of emotional turmoil and already in favour with everyone from Agoria to Michael Meyer. It has graced labels like Static Discos and Cyan Records, whilst his 2011 debut album on InFine, ‘On Your Own Again’, was a fine full length statement that took cues from shoegaze and post punk and looked well beyond the dance floor. This new artistic work, though, is about saying goodbye to the past with a real sense of satisfaction, at the same time as inventing a different present.

The most adventurous composition on this cohesive and coherent record, ‘A Sheltering Sky,’ best embodies the topic of nomadism that is so relevant to Cubenx and it borrows its title from a bit of post-colonialist literature that became famous when made into a movie starring John Malkovich. The romantic, free-roaming lifestyle glorifies travelling and is something with which Cubenx naturally identifies. “We’re not tourists, we’re travellers: tourists are those who think about going home from the moment they arrive, whereas a traveller might not come back at all.”

As an expression of this ever-shifting state and no-return mindset, unpredictability reigns over ‘Elegiac’, which is a powerful, fully bloomed machine whose movements are epic and whose orchestrations are intricate. Far from the techno world he first operated in, Cubenx’s style on this album has been shattered to pieces and recollected around new elements, some of them gleaned on the road, such as a healthy dose of UK bass that he adapts to new forms for his own peculiar purposes in the euphoric ‘Treasures,’ the lush trap affair of ‘Our Fire’ or the collision of electro, jungle and field recordings that is the final cut.

Some tracks also feature proper pop inclinations with great vocals such as ‘Drizzling Lemon’ or ‘Blindfold’ with international singers Cyane from Mexico, Yasmin Hamdan from Lebanon, Pris Wayland from France, and the undetermined entity Born In Flamez from Berlin. These songs add a classy, electronic sweetness that showcase the diversity of Cubenx’s compositions.

01 – F.All
02 – Drizzling Lemon Pearls (feat. Cyané)
03 – Treasures
04 – Our Fire
05 – Flaneur
06 – Banquet (feat. Pris Wayland)
07 – Blindfold (feat. Yasmine Hamdan)
08 – Ryo
09 – Peacefully Sinking (feat. Born In Flamez)
10 – Roßbach
11 – A Sheltering Sky