Terry Farley Presents Acid Rain


Terry Farley Presents Acid Rain

It was 25 years ago in 1988 when the Acid House sound created a musical revolution in the UK following the success of London’s Shoom and Hedonism, whilst, at the same time, Manchester was kick starting the movement in the North of England with the Hacienda’s Hot and Nude nights. Acid House continued its corrosive effect on the late 80’s party crowd with new clubs opening up almost every month throughout 1988 – R.I.P., Spectrum, Zoo, The Trip, Apocalypse Now, Legends, the State, Rage, Sunrise to name a few.

By the summer of 1988 aka ‘the second summer of love’, Acid House was something of a national sensation in the UK with the political establishment seeing the movement as a threat to law and order and the tabloid press vilifying the movement and its main symbol, the smiley face.

But what exactly was Acid House?

Internationally renowned DJ and House expert, Terry Farley has painstakingly compiled 5 CD’s which trace the movement’s beginnings and the incredible 6 years when this underground music from Chicago dominated the UK dance floors and spread throughout the world. To accompany this furious aural assault is a 32 page booklet written and curated by Miles Simpson, founder of the influential House Music blog, ‘Beyond the Stars’, interrogator of legendary DJ’s and all-round House expert.

Plus, of course, pages of scans, flyers and key photos from the period from the Terry Farley archives.

The repercussions of the original movement are still being felt today, with a new generation of House Music DJ’s and Clubs taking their cues from the original Acid House sound, which is currently enjoying something of a cultural renaissance via the current European/UK Deep House and Techno scenes with a new generation of DJ’s both playing and making music from this incredibly innovative period with direct influences from many of the actual Chicago classics featured within this box set. Most of the original producers of these Acid and Deep classics are also now once again in big demand with names like Frankie Knuckles, Gene Hunt, Bam Bam, DJ Pierre, Jaimie Principle, Virgo 4, Marshall Jefferson and Derrick May among others, headlining gigs in London, New York, Berlin and Ibiza.

Additionally a whole new generation of today’s major DJ’s are using the influences of early Acid and Deep House including, D.J. T, Kink and Jamie Jones among many others. The sound of ‘85/’91 never went away but is now massive again with a new generation of young club goers and young producers. Here is the source!

Acid Rain: Definitive Original Acid & Deep House 1985-1991’ is the ultimate must-have collection for anyone who is serious about their House Music history and the influences this genre has had over the subsequent 25 years. 

CD 1: The Birth Of Deep House 

1 Bird In A Guilded Cage      Jungle Wonz         Original 12” Club Mix 6.37

2 Bad Bo         Frankie Knuckles feat Jaimie Principle Unreleased 12” Mix 5.39

3 Take Me Higher      Virgo 4        Original 12” Club Mix 4.47

4 I’ll Never Let You Go          William S    Original Instrumental 12” Club Mix 6.14

5 School Hall M.E. Original 12” Club Mix 4.23

6 I Like It         Libra Libra Original 12” Dub Mix 9.49

7 Fantasy       Pleasure Zone       Original 12” Club Mix 4.26

8 Lack Of Love           Charles B   Original 12” Club Mix 6.18

9 Box Energy DJ Pierre    Original 12” Club Mix 5.08

10 Desirable Revenge           Candy J     Original Jack ‘Em Off Club Mix 8.58

11 Dream Girl Pierre’s Fantasy Club       Original Ralphi Rosario Club Mix 8.48

12 Let Your Body Talk           Ace And The Sandman    Original 12” Club Mix 7.10

CD2: In The Dark We Live

1 R U Hot Enough     Virgo 4        Original 12” Club Mix 7.39

2 It’s You         Mr And Mrs Dale   Original 12” Free Club Mix 5.20

3 The Jungle (Edit)   Jungle Wonz         Original 12” Club Mix 5.06

4 Baby Wants To Ride          Frankie Knuckles  Original 12” Club Mix 8.37

5 Can You Feel It       Mario Diaz feat Mr Lee     Jackin Up The Dub 12” Mix 4.14

6 In-Ten-Si-T Mickey Oliver         Acca-Bass-Si-T 12” Remix 5.11

7 As Acid Turns         Liddell Townsell   Original 12” Club Mix 5.10

8 That Shit’s Wild      Dr Derelict  Original Album Version 4.21

9 World Turns Round           Cool McCool         Original Album Version 6.24

10 Living In A Land   Gene Hunt Original 12” Club Mix 5.21

11 Your Only Friend (Cocaine) Phuture Original 12” Club Mix 4.53

12 Face It        Master C & J          Original 12” Dub Mix 7.02

13 Got The Bug         Pierre’s Pfantasy Club     Original 12” Club Mix 4.55

14 Washing MachineMr Fingers Original 12” Club Mix 4.19

CD3: Children Of The Night

1 Magic Feet  Mike Dunn Original 12” Club Mix 6.04

2 Another World        Bam Bam   Original Album Version 4.34

3 Ecstasy        Fingers       Original Album Version 5.39

4 I Need A Friend      Farley Jackmaster Funk  Original Album Version 5.38

5 In The NightRalphi Rosario      Original Kenny’s Night Club Mix 5.32

6 Shout           Jack Frost & The Circle Jerks     Original Album Version 2.54

7 I’ve Lost Control     Sleezy D      Original 12” Club Mix 9.43

8 I’ll Make You DanceLidell Townsell     Original Album Version 4.59

9 I Cant Forget           Mr Lee        Original 12” Club Mix 4.41

10 String FreePhortune    Original 12” Club Leray Mix 8.39

11 Where’s Your Child          Bam Bam   Original 12” Club Mix 5.37

12 Slam           Phuture      Original 12” Club Mix 5.41

13 Acid Rain V           ictor Romeo          Original 12” Rain Dance UK Club Mix 5.40

CD4: No Way Back

1 Don’t Take ItArmando    2007 Thomos 12” Re-Edit 8.31

2 Make U Scream       Bam Bam   Original 12” Deep House Club Mix 8.09

3 To Be Or Not To BeNeil Howard           Original 12” Club Mix 6.20

4 Without Make Up   Marcus Mixx    Original Ron Hardy 12” Club Mix 11.04

5 The Chase  Model 500  Original Mayday 12” Club Mix 5.15

6 Cool & Dry  Jack Frost & The Circle Jerks     Original Album Version 5.57

7 Get The Hole          Liddell Townsell   Original Album Version 6.44

8 K’s Vertigo   K. Alexi Shelby      K. Alexi’s Vertigo Re-Edit 6.44

9 The Gathering        Neil Howard           Original 12” Club Mix 6.37

10 Psychousic           Marcus Mixx          Original 12” Club Mix 7.07

11 The Calling           Fade 11 Black       Original 12” Reprise Mix 3.45

CD5: Work The Box

1 Distant Planet         Mr Fingers Original 12” Club Mix 5.14

2 The Spell     Marcus Mixx          Original Ron Hardy 12” Club Mix 9.26

3 Sensation    Ron Hardy Original 12” Club Mix 7.25

4 Clap Me       Jack Frost  Original 12” Club Mix 6.47

5 Work The Box        Santos        Original 12” Club Mix 4.31

6 Machines    Laurent X   Original 12” Club Mix 6.47

7 We Are Phuture       Phuture      Original 12” Club Mix 8.32

8 Drowning In A Sea Of House Laurent X          Original 12” Club Mix 4.19

9 Acid Trax     Phuture      Original 12” Club Mix 12.25

10 Time Marches on Jungle Wonz         Original 12” Club Mix 6.55

11 Can You Feel It     Mr Fingers Original 12” Club Mix 5.45