Various Artists - Various Artists EP Vol. 3


Various Artists - Various Artists EP Vol. 3

Josh Butler’s ORIGINS RCRDS reveals its third V/A installment featuring original productions from Demuir, Kreature, Olly Davis and Trojan – a new secret project from one of house music’s biggest names.

With 2019 now in full swing, Josh Butler’s ORIGINS RCRDS imprint looks set to continue its ascent as one of house music’s most consistent imprints, with stand-out material from the likes of Groove Armada, Richy Ahmed, Reboot and Ben Sterling across the label’s last three releases alone. Following the label’s first two notable V/A offerings and fresh from a label takeover at infamous EC1 institution fabric, here we see an EP full of new names as Canadian favourite Demuir, UK rising talent Kreature and Rawsum boss Olly Davis join the ORIGINS roster, accompanied by the debut of a brand-new secret alias entitled ‘Trojan’.

Trojan’s ‘Clockwork’ opens proceedings as slick organic percussion patterns meet tripped out vocals and skipping hats, whilst Demuir’s ‘No Mo Black’ combines warping synth leads alongside resonant vox samples throughout. Next, ‘Dance Night’ sees Manchester’s Kreature reveal a snaking bassline guided by precise drum licks and spiraling background chords, before Olly Davis partners with Marck Jamz to deliver the groove-heavy ‘Shake It’, fusing menacing low-end tones and bright stabs to reveal a production that has quickly become a go-to cut for label boss Butler over the past few months.

‘Various Artists EP Vol. 3’ is out on Origins Rcrds on the 29th March 2019.


1.   Trojan ft. Sauce – Clockwork
2.   Demuir – No Mo Black
3.   Kreature – Dance Night
4.   Olly Davis – Shake It feat. Marck Jamz