Hrtl - Yellow Mellow


Hrtl - Yellow Mellow

Early December will see the BASTL Instruments affiliated imprint Nona Records unveil Hrtl’s seven-track EP ‘Yellow Mellow’.

Leoš Hort aka Hrtl, a member of the Bastl Instruments collective and co-founder of Brno-based cassette label Bükko Tapes, creates dynamic, improvised material with modular synthesizers at the core of his work, always delivering a raw and intricate approach to House, Techno, Disco and Experimental music. Here we see him offering up a seven-track collection of the Bastl Instruments Collective’s very own Nona Records following a run of tape and 12’’ releases covering a broad spectrum of electronic music.

Up first is the melancholic Hapi drum style tones of ‘Crispy Mush’ accompanied by shuffled analogue rhythms, before ‘My Pizza Is Dead’ edges things towards emotive deep house via 80’s tinged melodies, acid licks and robust house drums. ‘Yavin Morning’ retains a similar aesthetic next with floaty ethereal chords, swirling echoes and cavernous reverberated percussion before ‘No Man Culture’ flips the switch and offers up a beatless contribution led by glitched out piano melodies and wandering bass tones.

‘Hollow Point’ continues the more experimental feel to things, employing wandering harp like plucks, crunchy modulating drums and murky low-end drones before ‘Hiigari’ moves back to the 4/4 to stir in some acid-tinged Nu-Disco vibes and closing cut ‘Crybaby’ delivers swelling synth tones and arpeggio bass.

Hrtl’s ‘Yellow Mellow’ is out on Nona Records 2nd December 2017.

Track list:

1.     Crispy Mush
2.     My Pizza Is Dead
3.     Yavin Morning
4.     No Man Culture
5.     Hollow Point
6.     Hiigara
7.     Crybaby