NERVO – Inspired


NERVO – Inspired

The second in Ministry Of Sound’s acclaimed ‘Inspired’ compilation series comes from irrepressible Australian DJ/producer duo NERVO. Having first established their credentials writing hit records for the likes of Armin van Buuren, Ke$ha and even Kylie Minogue, as well as writing David Guetta & Kelly Rowland’s Grammy award-winning single ‘When Love Takes Over’, NERVO have since gone on to cement themselves as one of the most exciting dance music acts in the world. Liv and Mim are also regular performers on main stages at the world’s biggest music festivals, as well as holding down residencies at Hakkasan Las Vegas and Ushuaia in Ibiza.

Having enjoyed a series of Billboard and Beatport #1 hits including ‘Like Home’ alongside Nicky Romero, a track that topped the charts for three weeks and has since amassed nearly 10 million views on YouTube, ‘Hold On’, and the recent smash hit ‘Revolution’, NERVO’s inaugural full length outing for Ministry Of Sound thus represents an exciting landmark in an already burgeoning career.

With the compilation series itself giving artists a reputable platform to tell their own story through records, highlighting those that have inspired them most on their respective journeys to the top, NERVO’s mixes offer up compelling new insight into their development as globally acclaimed artists. “We have always followed Ministry Of Sound as a label so, when they came to us with the INSPIRED concept we jumped at the opportunity” say the duo. “Whether they were new artists that we discovered at the time or whether we discovered these tracks while dancing on the Space Terrace in Ibiza, all of these records hold a special place in our journey.”

Due for release on May 19th, their ‘Inspired’ piece spans over two CDs, with the first covering ”Present and Future Inspirations’ and the second ‘Past Inspirations’ , and explores a fully comprehensive, personal mix of styles and sounds that point to a rich and varied musical upbringing. “Michael Gray’s ‘Weekend’ takes us back to our first summers in Ibiza”, NERVO reflect. “We were living in London at the time, trying to get ahead in music and waitressing. Records like this were an escape from our everyday lives. If we can provide that same kind of escape in our music today then that would be a great achievement.”

With a whole host of classic club tracks from across the wider reaches of electronic music soundtracking their ‘Past Inspirations’ Mix, even including Fatboy Slim’s iconic ‘Praise You’ and the late Frankie Knuckles’ seminal house jam ‘Your Love’, NERVO’s early inspirations are clearly deep-rooted in genuine dance floor culture. “Music is forever evolving but classics are forever with us”, the duo explain. “We have seen the rise of many great producer artists – Fatboy Slim and Fedde Le Grand, the legends – Frankie Knuckles and Julie McKnight, and of course the modern day heavy hitters – Steve Aoki, Hardwell, Showtek. We salute you all!”

Looking to the future, the duo take in a stellar selection of upfront dance floor cuts right across their ‘Present and Future Inspirations’ mix, offering up tracks from the likes of Deorro, Steve Aoki, Showtek and Mercer, as well as hotly-tipped UK duo Dusky and a slew of their own exclusive material. Listen out for incredible new club track ‘Sunshine Thru Rain Clouds’ featuring Duane Harden in particular. “When Ministry Of Sound proposed that we make a track exclusively for INSPIRED, we wanted to work with Duane. We wanted to make something that we could play in our sets today but, that also captured his soulfulness which we felt was in keeping with this INSPIRED collection. We hope you guys like it!”

Flawlessly mixed and typically immersive, NERVO’s ‘Inspired’ compilation serves as a fitting follow up to Tommy Trash’s debut Inspired piece. Joining the dots between classic dance floor sounds and an innovative new concept, it represents an exciting new chapter for NERVO and continues Ministry Of Sound’s reputation for keeping their ear firmly to the ground.

NERVO are set to celebrate the release of ‘Inspired’ with an official launch party at Electric Brixton on May 9th. Buy tickets here:

CD 1 – Present & Future Inspirations
1.   Prok & Fitch Ft. Max Linen – Man With Soul
2.   Phunk Investigation – It Is Star Time
3.   Norman Doray & NERVO Ft. Cookie – Something To Believe In (Carl Louis & Martin Danielle Remix)
4.   Hardwell & MAKJ – Countdown
5.   NERVO Ft. Duane Harden – Sunshine Through Rain Clouds (Exclusive)
6.   Deorro & Zoofunktion – Hype (Autoerotique Remix)
7.   2 Unlimited – Get Ready For This (Steve Aoki 2013 Extended Edit Remix)
8.   NERVO & Nicky Romero – Like Home
9.   Mark Knight Ft. Skin – Nothing Matters
10.  NERVO – Hold On (Vicetone Remix)
11.  NERVO, Ivan Gough & Beverley Knight – Not Taking This No More (Bass      King vs X-Vertigo Remix)
12.  Showtek – Booyah
13.  NERVO – Reason
14.        Mercer – Turn It Up (Tchami Remix)
15.        NERVO & Marco Lys – Don’t Break My Heart
16.        Dusky – Careless
17.        Shiba San – Okay
CD 2 – Past Inspirations
1.   Michael Gray – Weekend
2.   Shakedown – At Night (Kid Creme Remix)
3.   John Cutler Ft. E-Man – It’s Yours
4.   Kings Of Tomorrow Ft. Julie McKnight – Finally
5.   Wonderland Avenue – White Horse
6.   Nightcrawlers – Push The Feeling On
7.   Fatboy Slim – Praise You
8.   Frankie Knuckles – Your Love
9.   Fish Go Deep – Cure & The Cause (Dennis Ferrer Remix)
10. Soul Central – Strings Of Life (Danny Krivit Edit)
11. Ida Corr vs Fedde Le Grand – Let Me Think About It
12. Hardrive – Deep Inside
13. Shapeshifters – Lola’s Theme
14. Cleptomaniacs Ft. Bryan Chambers – All I Do
15. Shaun Escoffery – Days Like This (Spinna & Tickla Club Mix)
For more information on NERVO, please visit: