Singer-songwriter pianist Afra Kane unveils album ‘Could We Be Whole’ 

Singer-songwriter pianist Afra Kane unveils album ‘Could We Be Whole’ 

Single ‘Lift Up’ out January 19

Acclaimed Singer-Songwriter/Pianist Lifts Curtain On Eagerly Awaited New Album

Highlights Include Such Transcendent Singles As “Invisible Cross”, “Empty Promises” And “Lift Up”

International Live Dates Begin March 7, 2024 In Berlin

Could We Be Whole Arrives Via Warner Music On Friday, March 1, 2024

Afra Kane has just released two singles: Invisible Crossand Empty Promises, from upcoming album Could We Be Whole”, coming out in March 2024. The new Album shares the experience of shedding one’s multiple layers of self to finally find wholesomeness again. An insightful musical journey to one’s rediscovery through taking new risks. In fact, it takes on a new surprisingly boundary-breaking musical journey for the artist, as she explores other musical identities, while simultaneously embracing her old self. This album merges effortlessly classical, soul, jazz, R&B, tints of afro-beat and even afro-latin flavours. An unprecedented mix of sweet and sour, which well represents the alternative and multifaceted artist that she is. 

Produced by Kane with longtime collaborator Christophe Farine, “Could We Be Whole” immediately affirms the Switzerland-based artist as a captivating and chameleonic new songstress, her intimate and mysterious creative approach marked by virtuosic arrangement, seductive vocal power, and intangible magic. The album includes such deeply soulful singles as “Empty Promises,” and the transcendent, gospel-infused “Invisible Cross,” both joined by official music videos directed by Kane’s frequent visual associate, filmmaker Élise Gyger, streaming now at YouTube HERE.

In French you would say the record is very ‘brut,’” says Afra Kane, “almost like a rough diamond. It’s more raw than I think people would anticipate and then gets edgier as it goes along. There are some things that might sound a bit nightmarish. And then some things that are more appealing to the soul. I always try to balance my music, between making it digestible but also pushing myself outside of my comfort zone, so it’s a learning experience for me as an artist as well as the listener.

Kane will celebrate “Could We Be Whole” with an eagerly anticipated series of international live dates, beginning March 7, 2024 with a special album release event at Berlin, Germany’s JazzClub A-Trane. For complete details and ticket information, please visit

Born in Vicenza, Italy from Nigerian descent, Afra Kane began playing piano in order to accompany worship services at church but her nascent talent quickly led to an education in classical piano at prestigious conservatoires including Cardiff, Wales’s Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama and Neuchâtel, Switzerland’s Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève. Her wide-ranging musical interests soon saw Kane trying her own hand as a singer-songwriter, fusing her classical training with elements of jazz, soul, R&B, future funk, and more to craft a nuanced, cinematic sound that earned her 2019’s Montreux Jazz Talent Award from a like-minded jury that included Stanley Clarke, Chilly Gonzales, Carl Craig, and Chucho Valdés. 

A series of singles drew even more applause and increasing airplay, with “Mouth Shut” named as BBC Music Introducing’s prestigious “Record of the Week.” 2019’s debut EP, Scorpio, was followed by international touring that spanned headline dates in New York City and across Europe to a sold-out residency at Hong Kong’s Café Carlyle Hong Kong. 2022 saw the arrival of Kane’s debut album, Hypersensitive, which earned her further acclaim for its spellbinding and healing songcraft, rich with expansive production, soulful sensitivity, and Kane’s truly singular lyrical perspective. Now, with “Empty Promises” and Could We Be Whole on the horizon, Afra Kane is poised for a milestone leap forward towards as-yet-unscaled new heights. 




  1. Intro (feat. Hook)
  2. Warm Up (feat. Hook)
  3. Empty Promises
  4. Free Pt.1
  5. Free Pt.2
  6. Invisible Cross
  7. Palabras (feat. Alina Amuri)
  8. Vision
  9. Death In My Dreams
  10. Lift Up
  11. Procrastinating
  12. Paranoïa

Written, Composed, Arranged & Produced By Afra Kane

Recorded, Arranged & Produced By Christophe Farine 

(Except For ‘intro’ & ‘warm Up’ Recorded & Co-Produced By Hook)



Post a Comment