Icelandic pop princess Heidrunna unveils new track ‘YCBCC’

Icelandic pop princess Heidrunna unveils new track ‘YCBCC’

Icelandic wonder Heidrunna unveils glistening new single ‘YCBCC’ ahead of first-ever London performance at Paper Dress Vintage on March 8th.


Following on from Melodramatic, last year’s lustrous debut album from the Nordic import, Heidrunna now shares new track ‘YCBCC’ in anticipation of her first London live show at Hackney’s Paper Dress Vintage on March 8th – marking a very special moment for the Reykjavík-born singer.

As we’re greeted with the frosty sentiments of the winter months, Heidrunna turns to her melancholic past in ‘YCBCC’, reminiscing on a relationship that never was and drowning in the nostalgia of what could have been. Much like her previous releases, ‘YCBCC’ hones in on the heartache and catastrophes of love while maintaining her adoration for classic hooks, making Heidrunna a true expert in pop-making.

The release teases what fans can expect from her first-ever live performance in the capital; from glossy elated singles ‘Erasing You’ and ‘Borderline’ pulled from Melodramatic to testing the waters with brand new aural treats. Whilst tickets have now completely sold out, you can still sign up for the waiting list to be the first to know of any last-minute additions.

Drawing influence from old school pop songwriting, Melodramatic is the result of Heidrunna’s infatuation for greatest hits records. Simultaneously, she sought inspiration through the likes of Beach HouseCharlotte Gainsbourg, Lykke Li, Vanessa Paradise and The Weeknd to uncover the sonics she would soon utilise for her bold introduction.

Honest and sincere, Melodramatic encapsulates Heidrunna’s beguiling aura in the space of ten exceptionally crafted electro-pop jewels. Onboard for production is Liam Howe, whose portfolio includes Lana Del ReyMARINAFKA twigs and Ellie Goulding. With Melodramatic, he and Heidrunna have rewritten the guidebook, conjuring up the kind of impenetrably-authentic ‘80s backdrop that you’d be hard pushed to pick out in a line-up of the finest electronic albums of an era it seeks to emulate and acknowledge in equal measure. Album artwork and single covers were designed by fashion illustrator Julia Verhoeven who has had works widely exhibited including showings at the V & A and The Hayward.

Press support so far includes The IndependentOfficial ChartsWonderlandEuphoria, Lock Magazine, Music News and When The Horn Blows alongside continued support from Spotify in their editorial playlists, including New Music Friday Iceland.

New single ‘YCBCC’ is out now 

Debut album ‘Melodramatic’ is available to stream here




  1. Borderline
  2. Love Don’t Come Easy
  3. Daydreamer
  4. Erasing You
  5. No Valium
  6. Call It Melodramatic
  7. You Can Go Your Own Way
  8. Cindy
  9. You Make Me Feel
  10. All Cried Out






Post a Comment