Mike Mago set to drop self-titled debut album, alongside focus track Save You Sunshine

Mike Mago set to drop self-titled debut album, alongside focus track Save You Sunshine

Dutch DJ and producer Mike Mago unveils his long awaited self-titled debut album, alongside focus track Save You Sunshine, out 5th May on his own dance label BMKLTSCH RCRDS.


The hotly anticipated album follows a string of monthly album singles which have seen Mike Mago continue his shift in sonic direction with uplifting, pensive electronica. Mago’s debut LP is the culmination of this journey, displaying the Dutch producer’s diverse sound palette, hypnotic and expertly harmonized vocals, organic break-driven drums and atmospheric undertones. 


Album opener ‘Take Me Home’ is a rousing combination of impassioned vocals, glistening synths and restrained breaks, before ‘Colors’ kicks in with a dose of pure euphoria. Survive You’ takes listeners on a euphoric journey of scintillating textures, a vibe continued with the shimmering, breakbeat-driven cut of ‘Piece One’. Focus track ‘Save You Sunshine’ is an addictive album highlight, furnishing its earworm chorus with energizing synths and soulful vocals. On the album’s mellower second half, ‘Piece Two’ is an oasis of calm amongst the euphoria, and the meticulous chopped-up vocals of ‘Ready & Willing’ give the track an otherworldly feel. Finally, ‘Since You Been Gone’ and ‘Waste Of Time’ end the album on a wave of hypnotic textures and smooth breakbeats.


Mike Mago says of the album, “As some may know, I’ve been at it for a while now and I finally feel I have developed my vision, taste and skills enough to bundle a good amount of tracks into an album. I’ve made this hoping to take the listener on a trip and through my music show all the music that has inspired me.


With his feet planted in both underground music and mainstream sounds, Amsterdam-hailing Mike Mago has earned worldwide support from DJs and radio alike. His 2014 single ‘Outlines’, a collaboration with Canadian electronic outfit Dragonette, reached #8 in the UK Singles charts, and racked up more than 37 million streams on Spotify and over 12 million YouTube views. Since then, he has released a steady stream of singles and remixes, also performing at the likes of Creamfields, Tomorrowland and Ministry of Sound. His follow-up hits have included ‘Deeper Love’, ‘Secret Stash’ (with Dragonette), ‘Eyes On Me’ (with Anabel Englund) and ‘Feels So Good’. As well as releasing his own tracks, the talent has also done official remixes for the likes of Halsey, Ellie Goulding, Avicii, Clean Bandit, Bastille, Tiesto, CharliXCX and many others.


With a number of upcoming European dates, including an album launch party at Geheime Liefde in the Netherlands, the sublime sounds and hypnotic grooves of the album are set to flourish in a live setting. 


On his most fully realised artistic statement yet, Mike Mago displays his ingenuity and sonic evolution throughout this meticulously crafted debut album. Years in the making, his eponymous album was worth the wait.


Album tracklist – Save You Sunshine


  • Take Me Home
  • Colors
  • Survive You
  • Piece One
  • Save You Sunshine
  • Tell Me
  • Piece Two
  • Ready & Willing
  • Since You’ve Been Gone
  • Waste Of Time


Upcoming shows:

6th May Geheime Liefde (NL) (album release party)

25th May – Conduct Festival (NL)

11th June – World Club Dome (GE)

24th June – London location TBA (UK) 




Post a Comment