Elegant Composer vaghy Releases ‘Bite’ Video unveils Granum Album

Elegant Composer vaghy Releases ‘Bite’ Video unveils Granum Album

Modern Classical composer vaghy has released an artful new video for the previously released single, ‘Bite’, ahead of his upcoming Sophomore album Granum, which will be released on the 26th of May via Théque Records and will be available on digital platforms and vinyl. The video has been premiered by Decoded Magazine and was created by visual artist Péter Lichter using analogue film and stop motion and follows the release of his debut album Minimalism. Having had his music air on KEXP and Ibiza Sonica Radio, the composer’s work has been supported by the German publication FAZEmag as well as the Hungarian webzine Recorder.hu to name a few.

A few years ago, classically trained Hungarian pianist-composer Tamás Vághy decided to share his work with the public under the name vaghy, a moniker under which he arranges piano, synths, and vintage instruments into graceful compositions. Having taken to the keys at the early age of 6, Tamás would go on to organise Piano Day in Budapest, where he would play alongside Lubomyr Melnyk at the Müpa, formerly known as the Palace of Arts, in 2019. Taking influence from Keith Jarrett’s album The Köln Concert, he creates songs comparable to the sheet music of Nils Frahm, Philip Glass, and Stephan Moccio.

A collage of colour, vaghy’s new video is a body of motion and texture, visually representing reels of piano arpeggios and rolls of multi-octave motifs. Created using 8mm tape cuts, the artwork is like no other, an ever-changing union between paint, film, and melody.

Granum Album Tracklist:

  1. mane
  2. ortus
  3. lacuna
  4. fenestra
  5. imago
  6. tristis
  7. vita
  8. partium
  9. nox



Post a Comment