Various Artists - Glitterbox: This Ain’t No Disco


Various Artists - Glitterbox: This Ain’t No Disco

Compiled for the first time by Melvo Baptiste, the latest instalment from Glitterbox turns disco conventions inside out. Rejecting nostalgia in favour of incredible music that resonates on dancefloors in the here and now, Melvo Baptiste makes his impressive first contribution to the revered Glitterbox series.

Comprising three mixes with over 45 tracks, ‘Glitterbox – This Ain’t No Disco’ spotlights nu-disco, vocal-led and uplifting soulful cuts from the last twelve months. Three remixes from edits king Dr Packer – Johnny Corporate ‘Sunday Shoutin’’, Soulsearcher ‘Can’t Get Enough!’ and Shuya Okino featuring Navasha Daya ‘Still In Love’ – funk things all the way up, while new versions of two bona fide classics, The Shapeshifters featuring Teni Tinks ‘Try My Love (On For Size)’ and Shakedown ‘At Night’ (Purple Disco Machine Extended Remix) bring fresh magic. Two reworks from Kon, Mousse T. featuring TAZ & Inaya Day ‘Rock The Mic’ and Krystal Davis ‘So Smooth’, both released as singles on Glitterbox Recordings, represent modern disco at its very finest. More upfront highlights include Peggy Gou’s irresistible ‘It Makes You Forget (Itgehane)’, Sophie Lloyd featuring Dames Brown ‘Calling Out’ (Floorplan Extended Club Mix) and the unmissable ‘Light You Up’ from Luke Solomon featuring Queen Rose & Amy Douglas (Louie Vega Remix).

Forever paying homage to the golden era legends, Melvo has certainly not overlooked the artists that paved the way. His selections from the vaults include the sacred ‘Ain't No Mountain High Enough’ by Inner Life, written by Ashford & Simpson for a division of Motown in 1967, and in this instance featuring the voice of Jocelyn Brown and mixed by the legend Larry Levan, Ann Nesby ‘Lovin' Is Really My Game’ and Double Exposure ‘Everyman’ (Late Night Tuff Guy Rework), a stunning nod to a Salsoul classic.

Proving that disco is contemporary, sartorial, inclusive, and firmly rooted in the now, this is the soundtrack for a party that prides itself on freedom, fluidity and subversion. This ain’t no disco – not as you know it.