Markus Suckut - Heaven Is A State Of Mind LP


Markus Suckut - Heaven Is A State Of Mind LP

Rekids regular Markus Suckut drops his third album entitled ‘Heaven Is A State Of Mind’ this September. 

"This album is dedicated to my mother – I will always carry you with me to show you the world. See you again in a better place. “ 

When not helming his own imprints, SCKT and Pattern Research, the Düsseldorf artist has been releasing on Rekids since 2015 and is now a core member of the label’s family. Earlier this year saw the arrival of ‘New Life EP’, a mesmerising release exemplary of the producer’s knack for making imaginative house and techno complete with a compelling groove. No stranger to the long player format having released two albums previously, Markus Suckut returns to Radio Slave’s label with a quality eleven track album. 

From the word go Suckut’s album demonstrates his versatility as a musician, initiating with a beatless intro named ‘Escape’, before ‘Breeze’ comes into play with its skipping percussion and loopy atmospherics. Crunchy snares and crystalline synths make up ‘Sun’s Out’ whilst ‘Future Is Not Always Bright’ drives forward with its sultry low-end, ethereal pads and sci-fi bleeps, leading into ‘Take A Break’ and its medley of elaborate drums, living up to its name. 

‘Above The Clouds’ is comprised of intricate notes and soothing chords whilst the machinelike ‘Orchid’ features electro inspired melodies, contrasting to the album’s title track, ‘Heaven Is A State Of Mind’, with its bumpy bass and warping textures. ‘Wonderland (Version)’ is a ghostly acid cut, moving into the syncopated and ominous ‘We Will All Disappear One Day’ and its purring bassline until a moody two-step number entitled ‘Death Is Not Final’ ties it all together with twisted sequences and trippy effects. 

Markus Suckut ‘Heaven Is A State Of Mind LP’ drops on Rekids on 28th September 2018.
01 Escape
02 Breeze
03 Sun’s out
04 Future Is Not Always Bright
05 Take A Break 
06 Above The Clouds
07 Orchid
08 Heaven Is A State Of Mind
09 Wonderland (Version)
10 We Will All Disappear One Day 
11 Death Is Not Final