Marcel Lune - Marcel Lune – Sounds From The Desert Gully


Marcel Lune - Marcel Lune – Sounds From The Desert Gully

Marcel Lune delivers his ‘Sounds From The Desert Gully’ L.P, featuring twelve tracks from the Bristol based artist.

In 2013 Marcel Lune was named “a prodigious new talent”, having caught the eye of several industry names with his Intergalactic Dance Floor Massacre EP. Amongst these were Gilles Petterson, Addison Groove and Rustie. Having just dropped his second, self-titled, EP on Tony Thorpe’s Studio Rockers, this artist now brings you his debut full length album, ‘Sounds From The Desert Gully’ on the same label. It features guest vocals from 21-year old Californian producer and rapper Lee Laamaj.

The album includes one track from that first EP, the lilting, drunken beat of Eight Legged Elephant, which fits in alongside Marcel’s newer cuts like Voyager and Gully Rhythm. All 12 tracks offer maximalist, genre spanning grooves.

Nookula, a jazzy hip-hop influenced track employing muted trumpet samples and flowing disco strings to build things, before unfolding into a funk-infused groove.

Recent single Fantasia is drenched in sweet, multi-tracked vocals from Reading based singer Haze, a former winner of the BBC New Songwriter award.

Seawolf continues with the hiphop tinged vibes. West-coast rap talent Lee Laamaj sings and lays down some playful rhymes over slowed down crunchy handclaps and glitched up G-Funk keys on Cali ‘96.

Voids offers some squelchy pads over a break beat loop that drops after a couple of minutes. The manic sound continues on Soul Beat Runner and D’Angelo – a couple of rough-cut 2 step numbers before Marcel’s ability to craft his trademark choppy funk is summed up in Under The Willo and, closing track, Only You.

1 .    Noookula
2 .    Cali 96 ft Lee Laamaj
3 .    Voids
4 .    Soul Beat Runner
5 .    Voyager
6 .    Seawolf
7 .    Gully State
8 .    D’angelo
9 .    Fantazia ft Haze
10 . Only You
11 . Under The Willo
12 . Eight Legged Elephant