Charles Murdoch - Point


Charles Murdoch - Point

Mercurial Brisbane producer Charles Murdoch has today released his eagerly anticipated debut LP 'Point' on award-winning Australian label Future Classic. With featured vocals from Ta-ku, Oscar Key Sung, Banoffee, Wafia, Hak, KUČKA and Chloe Kaul, "Point" is an album of treasures; a beautifully diverse masterpiece from start to finish.

To mark the release and to follow on from the acclaimed singles "Straws", "Frogs" and "Privacy", you can now listen to album track "Back To It" featuring Banoffee and Oscar Key Sung on Soundcloud. With both featured artist's blissful harmonies layered atop minimal, pulsating beats, the track is sonic serenity at its finest and further cements Charles as one of the most important contenders in the electronic music landscape right now.

Charles Murdoch first caught the attention of the Future Classic label in 2013 with his rework of Flume's "Sleepless" in a Beatport remix competition – exhibiting his masterful knack for sophisticated, cerebral bass and house music. His debut solo track and first release on the label, "No Lungs", pricked up industry ears in Australia as well as across the pond, finding support from the likes of taste-making blogs Indie Shuffle and La.Ga.Sta to name but a few.

The release of his debut EP "Weathered Straight" in 2013, with Oscar Key Sung-featuring sonic masterpiece "Dekire" leading the way, cemented Murdoch as one to watch on the Australian dance music scene. Sure enough, the track went on to receive a nomination for “Best Independent dance, electronica or club single” at the 2013 AIR Awards, alongside widespread local and international support from the likes of Triple J, FBi Radio, i-D Magazine (UK), Dazed (UK), XLR8R (US) and DJ Magazine (UK).

Having supported the likes of Nicolas Jaar, Shlohmo, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Lapalux and Cashmere Cat, and now with this perfectly crafted piece of artistry that is his LP, Murdoch has more than earned his place as one of Australia's premier electronic artists.

"Point" Tracklisting:
1. Nothing For You (feat. KUČKA)
2. Frogs (feat. Ta-ku, Wafia & Hak)
3. Straws
4. Open (feat. Chloe Kaul)
5. Back To It (feat. Banoffee & Oscar Key Sung)
6. Fray (feat. Chloe Kaul)
7. Wash
8. Privacy (feat. Oscar Key Sung)